Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Three UGA students named Hollings Scholars

(from left to right) Chase Fiveash, Kathryn Boyle, and Killian McSweeney

Three undergraduates in the Geography Department's Atmospheric Sciences Program have been awarded the Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Congratulations to Kathryn Boyle, Chase Fiveash, and Killian McSweeney! They will go on to receive two years of financial support, a 10-week, full-time paid summer internship to any NOAA facility nationwide, and support to participate in two national scientific conferences as part of the scholarship. 2021 saw the most Hollings winners the Atmospheric Sciences Program has had in one year, and it ties the largest number of winners from all UGA departments back in 2017.

Type of News/Audience:


Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, Undergraduate Coordinator for ATSC Program

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about how to help us grow.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.